

MINUTES OF A REGULAR MEETING OF THE HOUSING AND REDEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY OF AUSTIN, MINNESOTA

1.) Roll Call.

Date & Time: November 19, 2020 @ 3:30 PM

Commissioners Present:	Jerome McCarthy Laura Helle Paul Fischer Carole Granholm Vern Lippert Jason Baskin	In person Via Zoom Via Zoom Via Zoom Via Zoom	
Commissioners Absent:	Marvin Repinski		
HRA Staff Present:	Taggert Medgaarden, Executive Director Lori Gansen, Administrative Assistant Angela Felten, Finance Director		In person In person Via Zoom

There being a quorum, the meeting was called to order by Chair McCarthy.

2.) Approval of Minutes

It was moved by Commissioner Fischer and seconded by Commissioner Granholm to approve minutes of the regular meeting held on October 15, 2020. All present voted in favor thereof, none in opposition thereto. The motion was declared passed and carried.

3.) Approval of Accounts Payable

It was moved by Commissioner Granholm and seconded by Commissioner Fischer to authorize payment of the list of accounts payable. All present voted in favor thereof, none in opposition thereto. The motion was declared passed and carried.

4.) Public Housing & Section 8

a. Capital Fund Grant—Public Housing for 5-year Capital Improvement Projects for years

2020 to 2024 and years 2018, 2019 & 2020 revisions.

A Public hearing was held to discuss the Capital Fund Grant and to answer any questions in that regard. Motion was made and seconded by Commissioners Fischer and Lippert to open the Public Hearing. All present voted in favor thereof, none in opposition thereto. The motion was declared passed and carried.

Executive Director Medgaarden explained that there had been several additions added to the Capital Improvement Projects (Elevator upgrades, asbestos inspections, emergency generator, etc). The reason for this is that if the items are not included in the Capital Improvement Plan, Capital Fund Grant dollars cannot be used to complete them. Not all of these items will be completed but we will have the flexibility to do them if need be.

b. Capital Fund Grant—Resolution to adopt the 5-year Capital Improvement Projects including a revision to the 2018, 2019 & 2020 Capital Grant Projects. Motion was made and seconded by Commissioners Helle and Lippert to adopt the 5-year Capital Improvement Projects including revisions to the 2018, 2019 & 2020 Capital Grant Projects. All present voted in favor thereof, none in opposition thereto. The motion was declared passed and carried. Motion was then made and seconded by Commissioners Lippert and Granholm to close the Public Hearing. All present voted in favor thereof, none in opposition thereto. The motion was declared passed and carried.

5.) Market Rate Housing

6.) Executive Director Report

a. Accept Habitat for Humanity Lots Donation

Executive Director Medgaarden was contacted by Craig Byram (representing Habitat for Humanity) in regard to two lots that they currently own. With the Freeborn and Mower County branches of Habitat for Humanity disbanding, they would like to donate the two lots to the HRA. They would cover the closing cost while the HRA would be responsible for obtaining a title opinion. ED Medgaarden requested that the Board approve the acceptance of these two lots. Motion was made and seconded by Commissioners Fischer and Granholm to approve accepting the donated lots from Habitat for Humanity. All present voted in favor thereof, none in opposition thereto. The motion was declared passed and carried.

b. Hormel Foundation Grants

The HRA submitted two grant applications to the Hormel Foundation for consideration. One application was for funds to expand the CHIP loan program and the other was for improvements to our Transitional House. Executive Director Medgaarden was pleased to inform the Board that we were awarded funding for both applications.

7.) Adjourn There being no further business it was moved by Commissioner Helle and seconded by Commissioner Lippert to adjourn the meeting. All present voted in favor thereof, none in opposition thereto. The motion was declared passed and carried.

Jerome McCarthy, Chair

SEAL

Jason Baskin, Secretary